Mom&Pop REVIEW: Deising’s Bakery

Welcome to my first review! To learn more about me and this blog, see the About page. Let’s kick things off with one of my childhood favorites: Deising’s Bakery

Deising’s Bakery in Kingston, NY is a family run bakery and breakfast/lunch restaurant.  My family visits this joint while visiting my grandparents on our annual drive up north for the summer.  They serve the typical diner fare of eggs, meats, pancakes, waffles, omelettes, and more.  So what sets this place apart? Consistently good service and quality food at a low price.  Not to mention the bakery! As a childhood tradition, of course this place holds a special place in my heart… along with all the cholesterol i’ve ingested here from buttered pancakes and chocolate milk.

Fresh bread, detailed cakes, and unique pastries line the shelves.  I’ve tried bagels, bread, and an assortment of pastries, all excellent.  My favorite being the Italian cookies:

So varied and intricate, the subtle butter cookies complement the sweet chocolate and jam cookies perfectly.  The chocolate dipped sandwich cookies are my favorite of all time and I’ve not even been able to recreate their goodness in the kitchen.  They must put magic in them.

Deising’s menu offers unrivaled variety including items like fresh pastries, quiche, and endless variations of omelettes, sandwiches and eggs.  I was able to order my over-hard egg, hash browns and toast for just over $3.  Cantaloupe is offered as an alternate to hash browns for the more health inclined of us.  Here’s a picture of my mom’s egg-white garden omelette for just over $7:

img_0291

Location: Kingston, NY
Price rating: 9/10
Food rating: 9.5/10
Ambiance rating: 8.5/10
Overall Rating: 9/10

 

Leave a Reply

