PRODUCT REVIEW: DIY Hot Sauce Kit

A recent trip to Louisiana inspired this gift from my sister.  I’ve been a huge fan of hot sauce for a while now and Louisiana is like a Mecca of the spicy stuff.  On our trip, we happened upon the Tabasco gift store and a hot sauce tasting bar.  Let me tell you, I was in heaven… well… until I tasted Scorpion Pepper hot sauce. I was in pain for the next couple of hours.  

hotsaucekit

The kit contains 3 glass bottles, 4 plastic squeeze bottles, ancho pasilla peppers, chipotle peppers, habanero peppers, small bag of ghost peppers, spice blend, apple cider vinegar, a funnel, instructions with recipes, and stickers.  I decided to make the Smokin’ Sauce made from ancho and chipotle peppers, and the Ghost Pepper Sauce because I definitely need another traumatic hot sauce experience in my life.  I love hot sauce, but I’m not saying I handle spice well.  I once cried from eating jalapenos in my Moe’s burrito bowl.

The process began by boiling the bottles to sanitize them for bottling.

The peppers are then re hydrated in water and mixed with the spice blend and simmered.  Vinegar is added and the mixture is then blended until smooth and there are no seeds.  The smokin’ sauce is more thick than your average hot sauce because of the actual blended peppers.  It is then poured into your desired bottle and sealed.  I obviously chose to put the ghost pepper sauce in the squeeze bottle so I don’t accidentally administer a deadly amount upon my food.

img_0269

Smokin’ Sauce with my beloved Tabasco

The smokin’ sauce produced a thick, deep-red sauce with a smoky flavor.  The name “smokin’ sauce” must come from the smoke-dried chipotles rather than from being smokin’ hot.  It had a mild amount of spice, but mostly exhibited smoky pepper flavor.  The ghost pepper sauce, on the other hand, is more my style.  While very spicy, it wasn’t overpowering, I mean I could even enjoy this on some eggs or pizza.  The spice in this sauce stood out much more whereas in the smokin’ sauce, it was mostly the pepper flavor.  The ghost sauce didn’t really have flavor, it was all spice, but in a good way.  The ghost sauce also came out thinner, more like a traditional hot sauce, giving it another advantage for me over the smokin’ sauce.

img_0271

Overall, I really enjoyed this kit.  The instructions were easy to follow and the sauces came out well.  One complaint is the limited number of recipes and no link to more recipes online.  The kit includes 4 recipes, 2 of which require ingredients not included in the kit.  I still plan to look up more recipes and create some new sauces in the future.  I would highly recommend this as a gift to your closest hot sauce enthusiast.

Smokin’ Sauce rating: 5.5/10
Ghost Pepper Sauce rating: 9/10
DIY Hot Sauce Kit rating: 8.5/10

Leave a Reply

