REVIEW: Dunkin’ Donuts Vanilla Latte & Chocolate Mocha Pop-Tarts

Let me start this out by saying I’ve never had a Dunkin’ Donuts vanilla latte or mocha… heck, I’ve never even had a Dunkin’ Donuts coffee before. I’m accustomed to my dorm room instant coffee and the occasional splurge for a $1 McDonald’s black coffee.

img_0356

While I may not be a seasoned coffee drinker, I sure have eaten my fair share of Pop-Tarts over the years. As a typical millennial, middle-class child, my mom would buy me pop-tarts on the regular. As a child, I never really considered the long term health implications of devouring pop-tarts daily. But as an adult, I’ve swayed away from sugary breakfast to my more adult-like oatmeal. I know.. Boring, right? Also now that I’m an adult, I drink coffee, and I love it. Being a comp-sci major/programmer, I can’t really live without it. That being said I cannot explain my excitement to eat this mashup of 2 of my favorite foods.

First, I dug into the Vanilla Latte Pop-Tarts. The bouquet definitely had discernible coffee smell. It also smelled of vanilla and very sweet like… well, a vanilla latte.

img_0357

Untoasted, it tasted amazing.. pretty much just like a vanilla latte. A decent amount of coffee flavor with a lot of sweet vanilla flavor. Just like one of those flavored coffees you get at your favorite coffee chain that’s basically coffee flavored milk and has more calories than half your daily allotment. So basically it tastes amazing, Kellogg’s nailed it with this one.

When toasted, I felt that it lost some of its coffee flavor to where I could barely notice it. For this reason I’ll rate it a 9.5/10.

The Chocolate Mocha Pop-Tarts did not fare as well in the coffee department. I had high expectations for Chocolate Mocha but was disappointed in the lacking coffee flavor, of which I could pick minimally if any at all. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great tasting pop-tart, but to me, it’s essentially a chocolate fudge pop-tart with little-to-no coffee flavor. Toasting gave the filling a pleasant gooey texture reminiscent of a warm Betty Crocker chocolate cake icing. Rating: 8/10

img_0361

My balanced breakfast

Overall, these pop-tarts were a hit. While the Chocolate Mocha was lacking coffee flavor, it makes up for it with a solid chocolate taste. The Vanilla Latte pop-tart had the coffee to sweetness ratio of an authentic vanilla latte, but lost some coffee flavor when toasting. I would definitely recommend the Vanilla latte to a coffee loving pop-tart fan and the Chocolate mocha to anyone who loves chocolate.

Purchased at: Market Basket (Rochester, NH)

Vanilla Latte Pop-Tarts rating: 9.5/10
Chocolate Mocha Pop-Tarts rating: 8/10

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Dunkin’ Donuts Vanilla Latte & Chocolate Mocha Pop-Tarts

Leave a Reply

