REVIEW: Subway $6 Steak & Cheese Footlong

Ah, Subway.. The king of assembly line food creation. Quick, cheap food with mid-grade quality ingredients.  With that being said, I’m pretty much their target demographic: Poor college kid looking to get a bang for their buck while “trying” to stay healthy. While I try to limit how much I eat out, I definitely enjoy the occasional Subway sandwich and when I saw this $6 Steak & Cheese footlong promotion, I decided to give it a try.

img_0510

Unorthodox, I know

 

I ordered mine on wheat bread toasted, with steak, pepper jack cheese, tomatoes, onions, peppers, and jalapenos. While ordering, I was a bit thrown off by the menu which said it includes steak, cheese, peppers, and onions. After realizing I can add whatever other ingredients I wanted, I went with tomatoes and jalapenos.. What kind of cheese steak combination is that? Who knows, but I went with it.

Upon inspecting the sandwich, we have typical Subway bread… nothing special, rather boring with questionable ingredients. The steak, which was your typical, cheap lunchroom steak that resembles floppy cardboard. And the veggies, which appeared fresh, all covered by a layer of melted cheese. The taste of the sandwich was overall satisfying. The steak was certainly not high quality, but was not chewy, and nicely seasoned. The veggies were fresh-tasting and plentiful and offered a nice combination with some spice(from the jalapenos), even though it was an unconventional cheese steak. The melted cheese offered a nice creaminess that tied everything together even though it didn’t have much taste. The bread, while rather bland, stayed together, and offered a toasted, crispy effect to the sandwich.

img_0509

Overall, I can imagine this is quite different than an authentic Philly Cheesesteak, but it got the job done as a tasty, satisfying lunch. I never expect too much from Subway… I’m never blown away by a Subway sandwich, I consider it more as an average, quick lunch. This experience reinforced that notion, but I’m glad I tried this new(to me) sandwich and will definitely return to Subway for another ordinary, nothing-special lunch!

Purchased at: Subway – Raleigh, NC
Price: $6 before tax
Rating: 7/10 (good)

Leave a Reply

