REVIEW: Chobani Flip Carrot Cake Creation

With Easter fast approaching, what better way to celebrate than with carrot cake. This marks my favorite time of the year. Plants start blooming, the weather becomes warmer, I can spend more time outside, ect. Exceeept, it’s been mostly below 40 degrees all week here in North Carolina. But no need to fret, my favorite pastime on cold days is to stuff myself with food. Today’s face-stuffing material includes the relatively healthy Chobani Flips Carrot Cake Creation!  While not my favorite dessert, I can enjoy a good carrot cake on occasion. But carrot cake in yogurt form? Let’s see how Chobani fared in this round of desserts turned healthy.

I’ve been trying to get some yogurt reviews out for yall while Chobani Flips and Fage Crossovers have been on sale recently at my Harris Teeter. (Fage Crossover review coming soon)

img_0792.jpg

The yogurt appeared off-white with lots of spices and maybe carrot bits in it? I honestly do not like plain carrot much so this was a bit offputting. The toppings included white chocolate chuncks, cinnamon cake pieces and walnuts.

White chocolate chunks: Very sweet, I could see these adding cream cheese frosting flavor to the yogurt.
Cinnamon cake pieces: Essentially crunchy bits of cinnamon cookie. Didn’t have much flavor.
Walnut pieces: Plain walnut pieces.

Altogether, the product tasted alright, but wasn’t really carrot cake in my opinion. I was getting lots of spice and what I think was an orange flavor. It kind of reminded my of an orange creamsicle taste, with a lot of spices added. Ginger was the most prominent spice for me. The toppings added nice texture and crunch, but did not really add to the carrot cake flavor. I completely lost the walnuts in the mix too. I know they were there, but I never really noticed them. In carrot cake, the only real crunch/chew comes from the walnuts and/or raisins. The walnuts were totally lost in this yogurt and didn’t add anything noticeable to the carrot cake effect. Overall, it was a sweet snack, but didn’t really taste like carrot cake, the topping didn’t live up to expectations, and the carrot bits in the yogurt hung around (which I don’t like). I’ll be sticking to Chobani’s other options in the future.

Purchased at: Harris Teeter – Raleigh, NC
Price: $1
Rating: 5.5/10

Leave a Reply

