REVIEW x3: Reese’s (Flavor of Georgia Peanuts), Hersheys (Flavor of New York Cheesecake), Payday (Flavor of Texas BBQ)

Hershey’s recently rolled out their Flavors of America collection to celebrate some of America’s regional flavors. These candies include the 3 listed here, Hawaii Coconut Hershey’s Kisses, Florida Orange and Key Lime Twizzlers, California Strawberry Kit-Kats. Florida gets two flavors and North Carolina doesn’t even get one? I guess they couldn’t think of a candy bar to make out of tobacco, pork, or cotton flavor. Beats me ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ I’ve be trying the three flavors I was able to find at my local CVS, but good luck, I’ve heard that these are difficult to track down.

Reese’s Taste of Georgia Honey Roasted Peanut Butter Cup

It’s hard to go wrong with Reese’s, not much beats milk chocolate and sweet, salty peanut butter. And that’s where Reese faces his only problem, it’s nearly impossible for a new flavor to one-up his flagship original Reese’s cup. That’s the problem with this flavor. I’m not saying it’s bad, just that it’s not a good as a regular Reese’s. It’s the same shape and color of an original Reese’s, but the peanut butter has a very discernable honey smell and taste. They nailed the honey taste and they didn’t hold back. The peanut butter filling was sweeter than the original with a strong honey flavor. The flavor was great, but it was really sweet which took away from the Reese’s effect. The original has a good balance between sweet and salty, but this one is too sweet. So, good honey flavor, overly-sweet peanut butter, original Reese’s is better.

Hershey’s Taste of New York Cherry Cheesecake Bar

This bar smells like vanilla cake icing and guess what, it tastes like it too. It resembles a Hershey’s Cookies ‘N’ Cream bar which is white with crunchy cookie bits in it. This one contains red cookies bits which represent cherries, I suppose. The bar essentially tastes like cake icing straight outta the Betty Crocker can… that’s the best way I can think to describe it. After the overly-sweet icing flavor fades a bit, I was met with a touch of maraschino cherry taste. It was subtle and it wasn’t even the type of cherry flavor I’d expect in a cheesecake. I even got a weird aftertaste after a couple of seconds.. Almost a chemical-y taste. Overall, it didn’t really taste like cheesecake and wasn’t a very enjoyable candy bar. The cookie pieces took away from the cheesecake texture and they’re supposed to represent cherries? This bar was a mess from the start.

Payday Taste of Texas BBQ

Interesting smell for this bar, it smells like peanut butter, with a little tang to it. This was the most intriguing for me as it seemed like a strange flavor for a candy bar and I’m a big bbq fan. In fact, I love BBQ, peanuts, and caramel, what could go wrong here?

Not much, this bar was amazing. The somewhat stale, seasoned peanuts combine with the caramel for a lovely sweet and salty effect. The BBQ spices add some tang, spice and a bit of a smokey aftertaste which probably isn’t for everybody, but I’m a big fan. I’m not a big candy eater, but I’d say this is one of my favorite candy bars and I’d probably buy it again if it became a regular product.

Purchased at: CVS Pharmacy
Price: $1.27 each
Reese’s Rating: 7/10
Hershey’s Cherry Cheesecake Rating: 4/10
Payday Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

