REVIEW x2: Caramel M&Ms && Trader Joe’s Crunchy Cinnamon Squares

Because of the massive amount of new products being released and my limited time, I’ve decided to include multiple seemingly random product in one post. A recent trip to Kroger and Trader Joe’s allowed me to pick up more junk food I don’t need. I’m gonna need to convert this into a health food blog before I turn into the Michelin Man. I grabbed the TJ’s Cinnamon Squares because I wanted to see how they compared to Cinnamon Toast Crunch. I got the Caramel M&Ms because they’re new and sound freakin delicious. Time to give these new products a try by consuming excessive amounts of calories so you don’t have to.

The Caramel M&Ms are larger than their original counterparts, though not quite as big as, say, a Peanut M&M. The caramel filling is on the more solid side, which makes for a nice texture when eating the M&M. I tried to recreate the caramel stretch displayed on the package, but this deemed impossible. Trying to cut the candy caused the chocolate to crumble or the entire caramel ball to stick to one side… Disappointing.. This texture did work well though when eating the candy as a whole. It was solid enough to give some resistance to the bite, but soft enough to taste creamy and melt in your mouth.  As for flavor, it tasted a lot like a Rolo candy. It begins with the typical M&M chocolate flavor, then transitions into a solid caramel taste. The crunchy candy shell adds a nice feature while Rolo has a higher chocolate to caramel ratio. Overall, this is an impressive installment in the M&M family worthy of buying again.

I’ve eaten a good amount of Cinnamon Toast Crunch (CTC) in my day, but it’s been a while. My memories are dated so take my comparisons with a grain of salt. From the start, this cereal looks more “adult” and “healthy” as do most Trader Joe’s products in my opinion. The conservative box, the lightly dusted cereal pieces lacking cinnamon swirls. It’s like a grown-up version of CTC. I think Cerealously.net describes this product perfectly: “If CTC is cinnamon toast made on Wonder Bread, then Trader Joe’s Crunchy Cinnamon Squares is cinnamon toast made on whole grain wheat.” TJ’s Cinnamon Squares felt like they had a little more chew to them and just weren’t as sweet. I could just be biased from year of downing the nostalgic, sugary cereal, but overall, I felt that these were a step below Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Maybe a blind taste test would make for a more authentic review. It’s also worth noting that TJ’s and CTC have nearly identical nutrition labels.

Purchased at: Trader Joe’s & Kroger – Chapel Hill/Durham, NC
Caramel M&Ms Rating: 8/10
Trader Joe’s Crunchy Cinnamon Squares Rating: 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

