RECIPE x2: Cajun Grilled Pork Chops && Greek Yogurt Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Summer is here, it’s time to fire up those grills. One of my goals this summer was to add grilling to my cooking repertoire. I’m not by any means experienced at any form of cooking, but when it comes to grilling, I’m basically winging it. Anything I know comes from observing my dad over the years, the best grill master I know, and anything I can find on the internet.

The motivation for this meal stems from many sources. I chose pork chops because I wanted to switch it up from the plain ole’ chicken I eat most of the time. I found a 16oz Slap Ya Mama Cajun Seasoning on Kroger’s clearance rack. That’s right, 1 pound of cajun seasoning for $1.49… Things are about to get real hot around here, you might be seeing a lot of this in recipes on here and in photos on my instagram. I’m big fan of spicy food in general and count me in for anything cajun. A recent trip to Louisiana expanded my interest in the culture and food history of the area. As for the mashed potatoes, I’d been looking for a recipe to use greek yogurt in. The plain greek yogurt I recently bought tasted extremely salty to me and I just can’t get it down plain. As a result, I searched for a recipe that would mask the flavor as much as possible, so here we have: Greek Yogurt Garlic Mashed Potatoes!

Cajun Grilled Pork Chops

Ingredients I used:
1-1.5 inch thick Trader Joe’s boneless center cut pork chops
Cajun Seasoning
Cooking Spray

What I did:
I seasoned the raw pork chops on both sides, pressing the spices into the meat. I used maybe 2Tbsp seasoning for 3 pork chops. Get your grill going on high heat and oil the grill to prevent sticking. Place the pork chops on the hot grill to sear each side about 2-3 minutes. I then turned the heat to medium low and cooked for about 15-20 minutes more, flipping once in the middle. After removing from the grill, let rest for 5 minutes before eating and make sure the meat is cooked all the way through… 145F if you have a meat thermometer. I enjoyed these chops with some Trader Joe’s Sriracha & Roasted Garlic BBQ Sauce but I’m sure it’d go great with any sauce. Enjoy

Greek Yogurt Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients:
2lb Russet Potatoes
5 cloves garlic
2 Tbsp butter
Salt & pepper (optional)

What I did:

I had 2 leftover baked potatoes that I used for this recipe, but apparently boiling fresh potatoes cut into about ½ inch pieces is the way to go. In a saucepan, melt butter and saute the chopped garlic for a few minutes. Place the tender, cut potatoes into a bowl and add the garlic butter mixture. Start mashing and add the 1 cup of greek yogurt and mash until desired consistency is reached.

Mine didn’t look the best, but it actually tasted really good. My potatoes were really crumbly probably because they were overcooked and sitting in the fridge for a couple days. But the yogurt added a nice creaminess and tang to make for a healthier version of mashed potatoes. The garlic was also a nice touch and created a very flavorful dish overall. This recipe definitely masked the saltiness of the plain yogurt, but certainly made for a delicious side dish.

I hope yall are having a great summer so far and please let me know if you try any of these recipes or if you have any recommendations for me. I’ve got a busy weekend coming up for the 4th of July, but after that I hope to get out some more reviews and recipes for yall. Hope everyone has a great holiday weekend coming up.

Leave a Reply

