REVIEW: Ritz Crisp & Thins Bacon Flavor

I was first introduced to Ritz Thin & Crisp at my cousins’ house last month. They were set out as an appetizer before dinner and though I’m not much of a snack/cracker eater, once I started on these, I couldn’t stop. Let’s just say that I was no longer hungry by the time dinner came around. Ritz Crisp & Thins come in 4 flavors: Sea Salt, Cream Cheese & Onion, Salt & Vinegar, and Bacon. I had the Sea Salt flavor at my cousins’ house and lucky enough, they appeared as Kroger’s Free Friday coupon and I picked up the bacon flavor I’m reviewing here.

I like the design of the package, It’s smaller than normal chip bags but it’s actually filled up to the top which is hard to find. The actual chips aren’t the most visually appealing. They are very light, they have a couple of brown toasted marks and a bit of reddish seasoning on them. These chips are made from a combination of potato and wheat flour and they are baked, not fried, according to the package. This leads to about 50% less fat than fried potato chips. OK, all of this sounds nice, but how do they taste…?

IMG_1531

Well, I already know how the Sea Salt flavor tastes and they are really addicting. These crackers are very light and contain large air bubbles, but they are substantial enough that it doesn’t feel like you’re eating air. They are also extremely crunchy, which I like. Their name describes them perfectly: Crisp and thin, with a salty, savory seasoning. As for these bacon flavored crisps in particular, I didn’t really get much bacon flavor. I really didn’t notice much difference between the bacon and sea salt flavors, granted I haven’t tasted Sea Salt in a month. They both shared the same texture and salty flavor, but the bacon was lacking from this batch. For that reason, I’ll have to take a point or two off its rating but I’d still highly recommend this line of chips.

Props to Ritz for creating a light, tasty snack with a sizable serving size and decent nutrition. It’s hard to find crackers where you can eat more than about 8 before you break the calorie bank. While these Ritz are easy to down quickly, it’s nice to be able to eat a 21 piece serving. Definitely a solid entry into the “light” snack industry.

Purchased at: Kroger – Durham, NC
Price: Free (with coupon)
Rating: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

